Replication

When I was a kid, I loved walking my dog in the forest, especially during the winter. It is one of the most beautiful places on earth. Everything looks white, innocent, purified. I can see where people before me have passed, because their steps have left muddy marks in the white snow. Intentionally I don’t walk in the same path, I am carving my own. Some places are very difficult to get through, because it’s a steep mountain area. Then I follow Terry, my dog. Energetic and happy it’s free to run around, it moves fast and vigorously towards the top. If it goes that way, probably that is the easiest way to continue, it follows its instincts and nature should be perfect, no mistakes in survival skills are allowed. Nonetheless, sometimes I end up sliding downhill on rocks, among bushes, finishing all in dust with a few bruises. Still go back home with a smile on my face, because I have tried a path, nobody has tried before me. You probably think I am stupid or at least unpractical, but that was a place where I could be myself with no limits, no borders, explore the forest the way I wanted, following only nature when I could not find a solution myself. Now my dog is gone. Nature might be perfect, but not infinite. It is quite hard to repeat its patterns and methods, but in life people can and do replicate each other. It is pretty hard to be original in era when most of the possible scenarios have been played. Have you noticed when you tell a story that someone else has told you, you use the same expressions and jokes, things that you have liked in his/her story telling. You simply replicate them. You feel special and original when people laugh at the jokes, but then it’s not really you telling the story. Still most masterpieces in human history are replicas. Some arts purpose is to duplicate. Look at painting, sculpture or photography, it’s a replication of reality. You give your own twist to it, but it’s still a replica, maybe some people would prefer the word ‘expression’. It’s replication! for me. It doesn’t mean something bad, though, it is beautiful, sometimes even better that the original.

Look at what your goal throughout your education years is. You replicate. In earlier stage you read and retell lessons: history, biology, etc. Later you continue this process of repetition, but probably a little thinking is demanded to melt the knowledge in a pot and extract just the needed one. Some people like me never master this skill and are left lost in the moody ocean of knowledge. You try to put fit it in limits, categories, but it simply overflows.

Going back to replication. Look at business models, all you need to do is pick an existing one or combine a couple of the successful ones and call it yours. The drinking water is already invented, you just have to bottled it and put a label on top and create a sweet marketing campaign such as  1 litter for 10 litters for Africa ( I really like this one <3) 😀 You will not be the first to use people’s conscience to sell them some MORE 🙂 So no worries, replication also reduces the moral responsibility. If someone has already done it and is still doing it, it cannot be that bad 🙂 Is this why you are still smoking?

As the two Swedish dudes write in their book “Funky business” – today about 70% of the scientists ever lived on earth are walking around.Wow! Sounds shocking! Human kind is speeding up on the development ladder by using replication and synthesis. From the latter you need just a drop, not too much effort. But if our progress is based on replication, why experts in HR field keep repeating originality and creativity are the key to be the best : )Maybe it’s just originally and creatively replicate the knowledge you already have…

Вашият коментар

